Evolution of the Archbishop Alemany Library

The Library at Dominican College started in the South Wing of the Dominican Sister's Mother House. In the 1930s it moved to Guzman Hall in what is now known as Guzman Lecture Hall. After 30 years the Library moved to the newly designed Archbishop Alemany Library. Opened in 1963, Alemany Library was one of seven libraries to be awarded for architectural excellence in the 1964 American Institute of Architects Library Building Awards Program. Built by architects, Howard Friedman and Henry Schubart.

In 2022, the Alemany Library is starting the next stage of it's evolution with a portion of the building being redesigned to act as the home for the Center for the Dominican Experience. Construction is expected to be completed in the fall of 2023, in time to coincide with the 60th anniversary of the Archbishop Alemany Library.

1919-1930 The Library in the South Wing of the Mother House

1919-1930 The Library in the South Wing of the Mother House

1935 Benincasa Exterior

1935 Benincasa Exterior

1930 The Guzman Library Interior

1930 The Guzman Library Interior

1940 Guzman Library Interior

1940 Guzman Library Interior

1940s Guzman Library Interior Viewed from the Entrance

1940s Guzman Library Interior Viewed from the Entrance

1950 Guzman Library Interior

1950 Guzman Library Interior

1961 Architect's Original Artwork of the future Archbishop Alemany Library

1961 Architect's Original Artwork of the future Archbishop Alemany Library

1961 Original Floorplans of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1961 Original Floorplans of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1963 Exterior of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1963 Exterior of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1963 Front Entrance of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1963 Front Entrance of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1963 Interior Photo Showing the Library's Lobby

1963 Interior Photo Showing the Library's Lobby

1963 Interior East Wing of the Archbishop Alemany Library

1963 Interior East Wing of the Archbishop Alemany Library