The Prehistory of the Mind:The Cognitive Origins of Art and Science

Title

The Prehistory of the Mind:The Cognitive Origins of Art and Science

Authors

Steven Mithen

Files

Description

Here is an exhilarating intellectual performance, in the tradition of Roger Penrose's The Emperor's New Mind and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. On the way to showing how the world of our ancient ancestors shaped our modern modular mind, Steven Mithen shares one provocative insight after another as he answers a series of fascinating questions:

  • Were our brains hard-wired in the Pleistocene Era by the needs of hunter-gatherers?
  • When did religious beliefs first emerge?
  • Why were the first paintings made by humankind so technically accomplished and expressive?
  • What can the sexual habits of chimpanzees tell us about the prehistory of the modern mind?

ISBN

0-500-28100-9

Publication Date

1-1-1996

Publisher

Thames & Hudson Ltd.

Disciplines

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology | History | Neuroscience and Neurobiology

The Prehistory of the Mind:The Cognitive Origins of Art and Science


Share

COinS